Quick and Simple Teriyaki Sauce

My name is Rachael, and I’m a teriyaki addict.  It’s one of my absolute favorite flavors!  I’m not exaggerating when I say I have 4 different teriyaki sauce recipes.  And that doesn’t include the teriyaki glaze for our Asian-Glazed Brussels Sprouts.  One sauce is hibachi-style, one sauce is more for grilling, and the other two are for stirfries (which sauce I choose depends on the protein it’s paired with).  Today I’m sharing the recipe I make most frequently, my easiest sauce.

Teriyaki Stirfry

This sauce is a stirfry sauce that I like to use for weeknight meals.  I love stirfries because they’re quick, one-pan meals that are packed with veggies.  My favorite is teriyaki chicken (bet you didn’t see that coming…) with broccoli, carrots, and water chestnuts.  Sometimes I mix it up and go meatless by using tofu in place of chicken.  I used to use a more ingredient-intensive recipe until I found this simpler sauce which is now my go-to.  You just throw all the ingredients in a pot and heat – couldn’t be easier!

Quick and Simple Teriyaki Sauce

Prep Time: < 5 minutes

Cook Time: 5 minutes

Serves: 3-4

Ingredients

3/4 c. Water
1/4 c. Soy Sauce
6 tbsp. Brown Sugar
1 1/2 tbsp. Corn Starch
1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp. Sesame Oil

Ingredients

1.  Combine all the ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk together.  Bring to a boil over medium heat and simmer 5 minutes.  Make sure to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t boil over!

Thicken Sauce

That’s it!  Once it’s thickened it’s ready to use.  As I mentioned, my favorite use is a chicken or tofu stirfry with carrots, broccoli, and water chestnuts.  Obviously you can mix and match your favorite proteins and veggies to tailor the stirfry to your taste.  You can eat the stirfry by itself for a light meal or pair it with a side to make it more filling.  I recommend fried quinoa (see our Thai Tofu Stirfry recipe for a great fried quinoa), fried rice, or spring rolls.  I also use this sauce to make Food Network’s Sirloin with Teriyaki Broth which is quite tasty!

Teriyaki Stirfry

Leftover sauce can be stored in the fridge for 1-2 weeks (I always make extra!).  When you want to use it, reheat it in a sauce pan, mixing well.  You may need to thin it with some water – it tends to thicken in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

