Lasagna Spaghetti Squash

Spaghetti squash makes a wonderful healthy dinner.  It’s great for increasing your vegetable consumption or, if you’re trying to cut back on your carbs, it functions as a pasta substitute.  I’m not going to sit here and tell you that spaghetti squash is exactly like spaghetti – it’s not.  The squash’s texture is different, having a slight crunch, and it has a subtle sweetness.  While it’s not spaghetti, spaghetti squash is very tasty with tomato sauce – it’s how I prefer to eat it!

Lasagna Spaghetti Squash

One day when I was making my usual spaghetti squash with pasta sauce, I was thinking about variations of spaghetti that I enjoy.  Sometimes when I have extra ricotta in the fridge after making another dish (such as our Spinach Ricotta Gnudi, Lasagna Soup, Four Cheese White Pizza, or Sausage and Ricotta Pizza), I like to toss a dollop in with my spaghetti marinara to create a cheesy tomato sauce.  I did the same with my spaghetti squash that evening and it was delicious!  So I decided the next time I had spaghetti squash I would try including the other components of lasagna, and this dish was born.

My Lasagna Spaghetti Squash turned out to be a big success!  It’s now my absolute favorite way to eat spaghetti squash, and my boyfriend loves it too.  You’ll notice in this recipe I don’t give many measurements – I don’t actually measure things when I make it.  So you can tailor it to your taste by controlling the amount of ingredients you add.  Or throw in some of your favorite lasagna components that I haven’t included – I love cheese lasagna but maybe you’re a fan of spinach lasagna or eggplant lasagna.  I’ve provided the canvas so you can create your own unique work of spaghetti squash art.  Enjoy!

Lasagna Spaghetti Squash

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 45 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients

1 small Spaghetti Squash
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Tomato Sauce
Ricotta Cheese
Parmesan Cheese (optional)
handful chopped Fresh Herbs (optional)
Fresh Mozzarella Cheese

1.  Halve your spaghetti squash lengthwise (This is the hardest part of the recipe – you will need a sharp knife and some patience.  Be careful not to cut yourself!).  Using a large spoon, scrape out the inside of the squash to remove all the seeds – this should remind you of cleaning out a pumpkin to make a jack-o-lantern.  Drizzle each half with olive oil and use a brush to spread it over the surface.  Then season generously with salt and pepper.

Oil and Season Squash

2.  Place the squash cut side-down on a rimmed baking sheet and roast at 450° F for 40 minutes.  It should be browning around the edges.  Allow the squash to cool 5-10 minutes before handling (it cools quicker if you flip it over).

3.  Once the squash is cool enough to handle, use a fork to scrape the squash from one half into a bowl.  The squash should come apart in thin, spaghetti-like strands – this is where the squash gets its name.

4.  Add some tomato sauce (you can use your favorite jarred pasta sauce or make your own using our recipe for Tomato Sauce) and a dollop of ricotta to the bowl and mix thoroughly.  I don’t give you specific measurements for sauce or ricotta to allow you to fix the recipe to your own taste – you can go super cheesy if that’s what you like or opt for a healthier version with less cheese.  If you want to use parmesan cheese, add it now and stir it into the squash.

Squash Strands in Cheesy Tomato Sauce

5.  Take your squash in cheesy tomato sauce and put it back into its shell.  If you’re using fresh herbs, sprinkle it over the squash halves.  I like to use basil, but parsley would also work well.  Then tear the mozzarella into thin clumps and spread it over the surface of the squash.

Top with Mozzarella

6.  Broil the squash for a few minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbling and begins to brown.  Make sure you keep your eye on it so it doesn’t burn!

Now you’re ready to enjoy some scrumptious spaghetti squash!  You can serve it in the shell and eat right out of it like a bowl.  I find this meal to be very filling on its own so I don’t generally have any sort of side dish with it.  If you don’t think half a squash will be enough food for you, check out our Veggies and Sides or Breads for accompaniment ideas.

Lasagna Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

