Asian-Glazed Brussels Sprouts

Earlier this year, thanks to Amanda’s Baked Brussels Sprouts **FIX**recipe, I discovered that Brussels sprouts are not the dreaded vegetable that I believed them to be.  They are in fact very tasty and satisfying, especially when they’re roasted.  Plus, they’re super healthy and packed with fiber and protein to help you stay full.  Now I happily work them in to my vegetable rotation. Asian-Glazed Sprouts Once I started eating Brussels sprouts regularly, I wanted to add a little variety to my sprout dishes.  I love how easy our Baked Brussels Sprouts **FIX**are, so I wanted a simple alteration to that recipe.   I love stir-fried vegetables so I wanted to try a teriyaki sauce with my sprouts (I mean, what doesn’t taste good in teriyaki sauce?!).  I found a recipe for teriyaki glaze for Brussels sprouts that I could pair with our Baked Brussels Sprouts **FIX**dish, and the combination worked beautifully!

Asian-Glazed Brussels Sprouts

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients

12 oz. Brussels Sprouts
Olive Oil
2 cloves Garlic, minced
Salt
Pepper
Sesame Seeds
For the Glaze
2 tbsp. Soy Sauce (I use reduced-sodium Tamari)
2 tbsp. Sake
2 tbsp. Brown Sugar
1/2 tbsp. Rice Vinegar
generous 1 tsp. Grated Ginger

1.  Using the first 5 ingredients, roast your Brussels sprouts following our Baked Brussels Sprouts **FIX**recipe.  I often use garlic olive oil instead of olive oil and minced garlic.  If you want extra sesame flavor, you could also add a drizzle of sesame oil to the sprouts before roasting – just keep in mind sesame oil is pretty strong so don’t overdo it.

2.  While the sprouts are baking, combine the glaze ingredients in a small saucepan.  Bring the sauce to a simmer over medium-low heat and cook ~10 minutes until the sauce is thickened. Teriyaki Glaze 3.  When the Brussels sprouts are done roasting, transfer them to a bowl and drizzle with the glaze.  Stir to combine.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds and enjoy! Asian-Glazed Sprouts Mmmm, don’t these look delicious!  These quick and easy Asian roasted Brussels sprouts make a healthy, hearty side dish.  If you think the picture above looks like a big plate of sprouts, you’d be right.  On this particular evening I ate the entire double batch by myself with a couple Lucky spring rolls for a delicious and filling meatless meal.  Everyone will love these Asian-Glazed Brussels Sprouts, even avowed vegetable-haters!

Leave a Reply

