Southern Cornbread

I love cornbread!  It’s the perfect accompaniment to BBQ (especially if you fry it to make hushpuppies!) and is delicious with any kind of comfort food.  Having grown up in the South, I like my cornbread savory!  You’ll notice a glaring omission from the ingredient list for this recipe – sugar.  That’s right, no sugar.  If you’re one of those people who likes sweet cornbread, I’m afraid this isn’t the recipe for you.  Or, you could try this Southern classic and sweeten it up our way by spreading some honey butter on it or drizzling it with plain ol’ honey.  I prefer it without, but to each his own.

Corn Bread Pieces

My favorite restaurant cornbread is Cracker Barrel’s.  They achieve the perfect buttery flavor and slightly crumble texture.  Of course, we don’t have a Cracker Barrel here in Alaska… or anywhere that serves any kind of corn bread (much less the unsweetened version that I like).  So I have to make my own.  For a while I was making a cornbread recipe I’d found online and modified to reduce it’s sweetness.  It wasn’t perfect, but it was better than nothing.  Needless to say, my Southern cornbread search continued, and I kept my eyes open for any promising new recipes I came across.

Then I found ItFrank Stitt’s recipe on Williams-Sonoma’s blog.  The ingredient list looked right and the description sounded like just what I was looking for.  I whipped some up the next time I was making barbeque and found myself in comfort food nirvana!  It is wonderful and so incredibly close to Cracker Barrel’s cornbread.  Now I’m sharing it with you, so you can enjoy what cornbread’s supposed to taste like!

Southern Cornbread

Prep Time: 5-10 minutes

Cook Time: 20-25 minutes

Serves: 3-4 (6-8 pieces)

Ingredients

1 c. Cornmeal
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
3/8 tsp. Salt
1/4 c. Flour
3/8 c. Whole Milk
3/8 c. Buttermilk
3 1/2 tbsp. Butter
1/2 egg, beaten

1.  Preheat oven to 450°F then place baking dish in preheated oven.  (I use a glass Pyrex 8″ x 6″ or 7″ x 5″ rectangular dish or two mini cast iron skillets)

2.  Put flour and cornmeal in a bowl.  Gradually stir in the milk and buttermilk.

3.  Add butter to hot baking dish to melt.

4.  While butter is melting, stir baking powder, baking soda, and salt into batter.

5.  Once butter has been in the oven 5 minutes, pull the pan out of the oven.  Pour all but ~1/2 tbsp. of the melted butter into the batter and stir.

Buttered Batter

6.  Stir in the egg then pour the batter into the dish and bake 20-25 minutes.  (The batter should spread the butter remaining in the pan essentially greasing it for you!)

When the cornbread is done, the top should be lightly golden brown (and look wonderfully tasty!).

Finished Corn Bread

Slice it up and serve alongside pulled pork or BBQ chicken (or anything you want!).  I’ll even eat the leftover cornbread for breakfast.  Delicious!

Corn Bread Pieces

Leave a Reply

