Sausage Balls

If you Google “Sausage Balls,” there would literally be millions of hits.  There are many different recipes out there, and I must say, I haven’t met a sausage ball I didn’t like.  This is my family’s recipe, one my mom has made since before I can remember.  She would mix them up and roll out the little balls of yumminess on Christmas Eve, and just pop them onto a cookie sheet and bake them on Christmas morning.  To this day, no matter when we’re making them, I always think of Christmas when I smell them baking.  And though we will never agree on a football team (my mom and middle sister for Auburn, my dad’s a Gator, and myself and youngest sister are Bama girls), we do ALWAYS agree that these must be on the menu.

Baked Sausage Balls

They are super simple to mix up and after you make them a couple times, you won’t even need to look at the recipe.  My mom taught me to make them before I left for college.  “Just remember 3-2-1,” she said.  That’s because there’s 3 cups of Bisquick, 2 cups of Velveeta, and 1 pound of sausage.  Just mix it all up, rolls into balls, and bake!  So simple!  We use medium heat sausage, but if you prefer hot or want it more mild, you can use any heat level you want.  I have found, however, that the mild sausage lacks the spice to really flavor the sausage balls.  But as you can see in the ingredients picture, when that’s all I have, mild is what I use.

Sausage Balls

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Bake Time: about 15 minutes (until golden brown)

Ingredients

Ingredients for Sausage Balls

3 cups Bisquick
2 cups Velveeta (1 pound)
1 pound sausage (I use medium, but use mild or hot if that is more your taste)

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350°.  Dump ingredients in a large bowl.

Ingredients in Bowl

Mix all ingredients together until everything is well incorporated.  I use my hands; it’s pretty much the only way to get everything together.

Mixture

Step 2: Pinch off small portions of this mixture and roll into a tight ball.

Sausage Ball

Space balls an inch or so apart on a baking sheet.

Sausage Balls Ready to Bake

Step 4: Bake until golden brown.  Enjoy!

Baked Sausage Balls

Leave a Reply

