Pineapple Mango Margarita

I had been looking for a pineapple margarita recipe for a long time.  Most of the recipes I tried were overpowered by lime juice so that all you tasted was lime.  Where was that sweet pineapple flavor?  I finally found this recipe which I adjusted to get the tropical flavor I wanted while preserving the margarita taste.  Enjoy this glass of sunshine the next time you want to whip up a pitcher of margaritas!

Pineapple Mango Margarita

Pineapple Mango Margarita

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Serves: 3-4

Ingredients

generous 3/4 c. Frozen Mango Chunks
generous 3/4 c. Frozen Pineapple Chunks
1/4 c. Pineapple Juice
2 tbsp. Simple Syrup
1 tbsp. Lime Juice
1/2 c. Tequila, you want the 100% Agave stuff (I like Hornitos)
Ice

1.  Combine all ingredients except ice in a blender pitcher and blend.  (I use the “Blend” setting on my blender which is speed 8 on a 12 speed blender).  You want the mixture to be nice and smooth.

Note: If you’ve never worked with simple syrup before, fear not.  It truly lives up to its name, “simple.”  You make it by combining 1 part sugar with 1 part water.  You’ll need to make sure your water is warm to dissolve the sugar.  You can store it in the fridge and grab it when you’re making your next cocktail.

2.  Add ice to the pitcher and blend to achieve the desired consistency.  For me, 4-5 cubes is the perfect amount of ice.  (For this step I use the “Crush Ice” setting on my blender which is speed 12 out of 12).  You want to make sure the ice gets well blended so it’s nice and fine.  Nothing ruins a blended frozen cocktail faster than big chunks of ice.

3.  Serve in your favorite margarita glasses.  (My favorites are my cactus glasses… Love them!)

Looking for another refreshing margarita recipe to try?  Check out our Raspberry Margaritas!

Leave a Reply

