Smoky Chipotle Burgers

I absolutely love burgers!!  I actually get burger cravings if I haven’t had one in awhile.  This has become my go-to burger recipe.  It’s one of the best burgers I’ve ever had!  I made these for a cookout and everyone raved about them.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Chipotle Burger

These burgers, my take on a Rachael Ray recipe, come out incredibly tender and juicy, and they are packed with flavor!  What are you waiting for?  Fire up the grill!

Smoky Chipotle Burgers

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 8-10 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients

12 oz. Ground Beef (I prefer Grass-fed.  Not only can you feel good about it, but it’s extra juicy and extra flavorful!)
1/2 Yellow Onion
1 tbsp. Montreal Steak Seasoning
1 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
1 Chipotle in Adobo, chopped
1 tbsp. Adobo Sauce
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder
Olive Oil
2 slices cheese, if desired (I recommend Smoked Cheddar or Sharp Cheddar)
Homemade Fire-Roasted Ketchup, if desired
2 Hamburger Buns (check out our Homemade Burger Buns recipe)

1.  Place your ground beef in a large bowl and grate the onion directly into beef.  I like to use the small openings on a box grater.  This can require some patience.  Onions don’t grate as well as cheese, but hang in there, it will be worth it!  If you’re like me and cry every time you work with onions, try chewing a piece of gum while grating.  I can’t promise you won’t cry at all, but it will be much better.

Chipotle Burger 006_22.  Now that you’ve got your onion in there, add the Montreal Steak seasoning, Worcestershire sauce, chipotle, and adobo sauce to beef.  Drizzle with a little olive oil then mix with your hands (wearing gloves if you like to avoid raw meat under your nails).

3.  Form meat into two round patties with your hands.  As you can see, I like my burgers pretty thick.  Keep the size of your bun in mind when shaping the patties to avoid having meat hanging over the edge.  When forming the patties, you want them packed tight enough that they don’t fall apart, but be careful not to squeeze out the juices.

Chipotle Burger - Form Patties

4.  Season on both sides with, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Using your thumb, create a depression in the center of the burger on one side (this will help the burger keep it’s shape).  This is the side you will place onto the grill.

5.  Grill (depression-side down) to desired doneness, flipping partway through.  (We like medium to medium-well which takes ~8 minutes over high heat, flipping at about 3 minutes).  While your burgers are grilling, toast your buns.  To toast, butter the insides of the buns then place them buttered side-down on the side of the grill away from the heat.

Chipotle Burger - Grilling

Make sure you keep an eye on your buns as they burn easily!

6.  During the last couple minutes of cooking, melt the cheese over the burgers.  Normally, I stick with American cheese on burgers, but for this burger, smoked cheddar is my favorite.  If you can’t find smoked cheddar or don’t have any on hand, I recommend using sharp cheddar.

7.  Serve on buttered, grilled buns with Homemade Fire-roasted Ketchup.  Guacamole is also a great topping for these burgers (check out our Roasted Garlic Guacamole recipe).  I personally don’t like any extra veggies on my burger.  Just give me meat, cheese, and sauce on a bun!  If, however, you are fond of trying to make your burgers healthy, knock yourself out.  These burgers come out pretty big so prepare to “unhinge your jaw,” as Guy Fieri says, and dig in!

If you want to make it a meal, serve with fries (I like Alexia’s Sweet Potato Waffle Fries), chips, Perfect Oven-Roasted Potato Wedges, or one of our other Veggies and Sides.  Happy grilling!

Chipotle Burger 026

Leave a Reply

